One Day Watercraft Safety Course – June 23, 2016


Boater’s Safety Course

Where: Gerrish Township Marina
When: Thursday, June 23, 2016 from 9am to 4pm
Cost: Free!

Please bring a sack lunch.

Class size is limited to 25 people.
Pre-register by calling: 989-821-7224


Roscommon County’s U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary will be holding a one day Boating Safety Course.

Those successfully completing the course will be issued a Michigan Boating Safety Certificate.

Boating Safety Certificates are required:boat-map

  • To operate a Personal Water Craft (PWC):For anyone between 16 years old and born after December 31, 1978
    • for those 14 or 15 years old operating a PWC plus they must be accompanied by or within 100 feet of his or her parents, a legal guardian, or a person at least 21 years old designated by the parent or legal guardian
  • To operate a boat powered by a motor of 6 horsepower or more
    • Those less than 12 years of age if the motor does not exceed 35 horsepower and they are directly supervised by a person at least 16 years old
    • Those born after July 1, 1996

For additional rules see “The Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities” available at the marina or visit https://www.boat-ed.com/michigan/handbook/book.html for an online version.


Thursday, June 23, 2016
Gerrish Township Community Park & Marina
103 Mill Rd.
Roscommon, MI 48653